Even good luck needs a bit of help to be saved…

Elephants are awesome.  Flat out AWESOME!  And on top of being awesome, they’re considered good luck in the Hindu faith and used in Feng-Shui to bring good luck to the home. As signs of wisdom, fertility and good luck (just to name a few of their awesome symbolic qualities), it’s no wonder why they’re so awesome.

Image is from http://fin6.com

Image is from http://fin6.com

I have always liked elephants. It could be from the storybook my RL mom bought for me when I was little: The Saggy, Baggy Elephant. She had purchased me the books that came with the little record and a record player so that I could listen and look at the pictures. My mom claims (and I’ll just chock it up to bias…and her being crazy as a loon…JUST KIDDING…maybe! :P) that before too long, I was reading along with the books; all of them. At 3? REALLY, MOM?!? I don’t remember this, but I do remember the book “The Saggy, Baggy Elephant“. Anyway, I remember having all sorts of stuffies (that’s stuffed animals for us older folks) here and there of everything but elephants…yet they’re the ones I adored the most of real animals (unless teddy bears count as real animals, the YOU LOSE elephant!).  I have even dressed up in Dumbo hats on Halloween (I think it’s the ears…I dunno…but does it matter? Elephants ROCK!). Anyway, one day my job was having a toy sale and lo and behold, I found not only one elephant, but an elephant and her baby (yaaaaayness)! And yup, you guessed it…I bought it. It now resides in my home and I couldn’t be happier!

Side Note on Elephants: Elephants are a symbol of good luck, wisdom, fertility and protection (just to name a few) in both the Hindu faith and used in Feng-Shui for good luck. They’re herbivores, use their ears to stay cool, their trunks to reach things that are too far (and toss water on their backs hehehe) and tend to stay near the water.  The women are called cows, the men bulls and the babies calves.  They travel in herds and it’s usually women who travel together (or with their babies) the oldest leading the herd.  Male elephants leave the herd when they’re adults and live on their own or with other males, but will come around a heard when it’s mating time (oooooh!).  They communicate using touch, sight, smell and sound (infrared & seismic for long distances) and are just all around cute! Sadly, elephants in all their beauty are being poached for their tusks (you know the pointy white, sometimes bone-colored things that poke out on either side of their trunks), which are pure ivory, something that people use for jewelry among other things. They’re also put into zoos and circuses for display and in some countries are used as work animals and/or war animals.  Also elephants…veeeeeeeery intelligent and likened to primates and whales as far as how smart they are.

According to the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), African elephants are listed as vulnerable (meaning that if circumstances that are threatening their reproduction and habits aren’t improved, they’ll be listed as endangered) and Asian elephants are already on the endangered species list. Which brings me back to the point of this post…shopping! After joygasming over several elephants I saw at Patron, my sister Dutchess found this gorgeous jewelry set from Chop Zuey called “When Elephants Dream” (seen below). But this set is special. Not only because my sister of awesome gave it to me, but because it’s going for a very special cause: to save the elephants.

Photography by Dutchess Buttons

Photography by Dutchess Buttons

This gorgeous set features exquisite texturing of a black smoothed ivory for the tusks used for both the earrings and necklace and a gold, diamond encrusted elephant as the necklace’s main feature. Set with a chain along the back to hold it in place, this necklace makes a great choker-like bauble and will be sure to class up any outfit.  And the best part???  YOU’RE SAVING ELEPHANTS BY BUYING IT AND WEARING IT!! Scooooore!

How you ask? 100% of the sales of this set (on sale until December 31, 2013) are going to the World Wildlife Foundation (WWF) to help raise money for both endangered elephants all over the world. 

WhenElephantsDreamWWF

Soooooooooooo if you are still picking up end-of-season gifts, or gifts of any kind or just want to treat yourself to something pretty rad AND be socially responsible at the same time, head down to Chop Zuey and pick up this amazing set. Not only will you be helping save elephants (and good luck as well), it won’t put a huge dent in your pocket!

If you want more information on elephants and/or Ivory trafficking, please visit: http://www.fws.gov/http://www.wildaid.org/elephantshttp://www.cnn.com/http://www.usnews.com/ or http://worldwildlife.org/species/elephant.

Happy holidays everyone!

DEETS:

Jewelry Set: Chop Zuey – When Elephants Dream Set [SLurl] *100% of all sales of this piece go to WWF!

Top: Zaara – name of top – [SLurl]

Pants: Zaara – name of top – [SLurl]

Shoes: N-Core Zen Fat Pack [SLurl]

Hair: ETD Lydia Obsidian (no longer sold)

Photo Credit: Dutchess Button

